It might seem that you have turned off javascripts. We have tried to ensure functionality without, but some functions might not work as intended

Amalie Stalheim

Winner of The Norwegian Soloist Prize

Past events:

​Cellist with a sky-rocketing career. 

Award-winning cellist Amalie Stalheim (born 1993) won the 2021 Norwegian Soloist Prize, which is awarded to one of three to five nominated Norwegian instrumentalists or singers under 30 selected by an international jury.

‘This year’s winner is in the middle of a sky-rocketing career that’s getting noticed in both the Nordic countries and beyond. Amalie Stalheim has an exceptionally wide and interesting repertoire, despite her young age, where both brand new cello concertos and the traditional repertoire have a natural place,’ says Peter Herresthal, chairman of the Norwegian Soloist Prize.

The prize consists of NOK 100,000, donated by Karianne Westfal-Larsen, and two prestigious assignments: This recital at the 2022 Bergen International Festival and a soloist assignment at a concert with the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra on 18 November 2021.

‘It’s a great honour for me to win the Norwegian Soloist Prize! It’s heart-warming to get such an acknowledgement, and a huge inspiration for me moving forward,’ says Amalie Stalheim. 

In addition to playing traditional cello concerts internationally, Stalheim is passionate about commissioning new pieces for cello. She is an active chamber musician and has collaborated with musicians such as Janine Jansen, Yo-Yo Ma, Leif Ove Andsnes, Lars Anders Tomter and the Stenhammar Quartet. Renowned pianist and Festival favorite Christian Ihle Hadland will be joining Stalheim at this concert.

​Photo: Nikolaj Lund


Performance programme (pdf)

Changed time and place: The concert is moved to Troldsalen, and the event start time is 19:30.

Christian Ihle Hadland. Photo: Nikolaj Lund



​1 h


Standard: 380
Senior: 342
Under 30: 190
FiB Fordel until April 13: 266
FiB Fordel from April 14: 304
​BT Fordel: 285


    • Amalie Stalheim cello
    • Christian Ihle Hadland piano

Music by

    • Stravinskij
    • Sæverud
    • Grieg
    • Poulenc


    • Igor Stravinskij (1882–1971)
      Suite Italienne
      1. Introduzione
      2. Serenata
      3. Aria
      4. Tarantella
      5. Minuetto e Finale

    • Harald Sæverud (1897–1992)
      Andante funèbre, op. 44

    • Edvard Grieg (1843–1907)
      Four Album Leaves, for solo piano, op. 28
      1. Allegro con moto
      2. Allegretto espressivo
      3. Vivace
      4. Andantino serioso

    • Francis Poulenc (1899–1963)
      Sonata for Cello and Piano, FP 143
      1. Allegro – Tempo di Marcia
      2. Cavatine
      3. Ballabile
      4. Finale

Supported by

The Savings Bank Foundation DNB – Dextra Musica


Connected to chatbot
Hei! Jeg er Festspillenes chatbot. Hva kan jeg hjelpe deg med?