It might seem that you have turned off javascripts. We have tried to ensure functionality without, but some functions might not work as intended

Jump to main content
20 May - 03 June 2020

Closing Concert

with Oslo Philharmonic & Leif Ove Andsnes

Next event:
​Mozart's masterful piano concertos.

​Celebrating its hundredth anniversary, the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra rounds off the 2020 Bergen International Festival with a programme devoted exclusively to Mozart. The soloist is Leif Ove Andsnes, who conducts the orchestra from the piano.

In Grieghallen they perform Mozart’s Piano Concertos nos. 20 and 21 and his Piano Quartet no. 1. He composed all three works in 1785 and 1786, when he was in an extremely creative period which was to change the piano concerto for ever. In the course of two years he wrote several masterpieces in the genre, in which he reviewed the roles of the soloist and the orchestra and created new opportunities for communication and dialogue.

‘At this time a piano concerto would always start with the orchestra presenting different motives and melodies, and when the soloist entered, he or she would play variations on the same material that one had heard from the orchestra. With Concerto No. 20, Mozart does something radically new. He makes the soloist enter with completely different music than what the orchestra has played, thereby creating a contrast and a broader storytelling, where one immediately has the feeling that soloist is an individual, apart from the orchestra,’ explains Leif Ove Andsnes.

He has recently embarked on a project planned to last for several years, in which he will make recordings and tours based on these two highly productive years in Mozart’s life.

The Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra celebrates its first hundred years this season, and part of the celebration is an international tour in the autumn of 2019 with Leif Ove Andsnes. The last time the orchestra appeared in Bergen was seven years ago.

Oslo-Filharmonien (photo: C.F. Wesenberg), Leif Ove Andsnes (photo: Özgür Albayrak)



​2 h


  • Standard: 250/600/750 
  • Senior: 225/540/675 
  • Under 30/student: 190 
  • FiB Fordel until 11 March: 175/420/525 
  • FiB Fordel from 12 March: 200/480/600

Purchase ticket


  • Oslo Philharmonic
  • Leif Ove Andsnes conductor, piano

Music by

  • ​Mozart


  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791)
    Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor, K478
    Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor, K466
    Piano Concerto No. 21 in C major, "Elvira Madigan", K467

Supported by

​Yvonne & Bjarne Rieber/AS Rika


This site uses cookies for analysis, statistics, tailoring of content and development. Read more



Connected to chatbot
Hei! Jeg er Festspillenes chatbot. Hva kan jeg hjelpe deg med?