It might seem that you have turned off javascripts. We have tried to ensure functionality without, but some functions might not work as intended

Jump to main content
26 May - 09 June 2021

Hagen Quartet 40

with Gautier Capuçon

Next event:

Master quartet celebrates with Schubert and Mozart. 

The Salzburg-based Hagen Quartet has been called 'the pinnacle of musicality' (Die Presse) and tours concert halls worldwide. Its members are today professors and mentors at the Salzburg Mozarteum and other institutions. Three of the musicians are siblings and have played together their whole lives. Rainer Schmidt joined the quartet in 1987.

In 2021, the legendary quartet celebrates its 40th anniversary. In Håkonshallen they will perform works by Schubert and Mozart together with the French cellist Gautier Capuçon. Capuçon is lauded for his expressive virtuosity and performs regularly with orchestras such as the Berlin Philharmonic.

Schubert's string quintet is considered an absolute high-point in chamber music. The 'cello quintet' became the composer's final chamber work and requires an extra cello instead of the extra viola common in conventional string quintets.

The ensemble also performs two of Mozart's Preussian string quartets, composed in 1789–1790 after a commission by the King of Prussia,  Friedrich Wilhelm II. The King never paid his fee, and Mozart published the works at his own expense. The works are known for their beauty, with a fine balance between the instruments and an accented and singing cello voice – the instrument which the King of Prussia played himself.


By launching performances and artists as they are confirmed, the Festival would like to draw attention to the work our wonderful artists do, while knowing that the final festival programme may look different because of the pandemic.

The festival will follow the health authorities' orders and recommendations. In order to create the least possible inconvenience for our audience, ticket sales will begin closer to the festival dates.

​Gautier Capuçon (photo: Gregory Batardon). Top image: Hagen Quartet (photo: Harald Hoffman)



​1 h 30 min incl. interval


​​Ticket sales start in the spring 2021. Sign up for our newsletter to stay updated. 


    • Hagen Quartet
    • Clemens Hagen cello
    • Lukas Hagen violin
    • Veronika Hagen-Di Ronza viola
    • Rainer Schmidt violin
    • Gautier Capuçon cello​

Music by

    • Schubert
    • Mozart


    • Franz Schubert (1797–1828)
      String Quintet in C major, D 956
      Allegro ma non troppo
      Scherzo. Presto – Trio. Andante sostenuto
      Allegretto – Più allegro

    • Interval

    • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791)
      String Quartet no. 22 in B flat major, KV 589 Prussian no. 2
      Menuetto. Moderato
      Allegro assai

      String Quartet no. 23 in F major, KV 590 Prussian no. 3
      Allegro moderato
      Menuetto. Allegretto


Connected to chatbot
Hei! Jeg er Festspillenes chatbot. Hva kan jeg hjelpe deg med?