It might seem that you have turned off javascripts. We have tried to ensure functionality without, but some functions might not work as intended

Jump to main content
26 May - 09 June 2021

Håvard Gimse

Next event:

​Ballad of Revolt in the composer’s own home.  

Experience Norwegian master pianist Håvard Gimse in an intimate solo concert at Siljustøl, the unique home of Norwegian composer Harald Sæverud. 

The programme consists of well-known works from Sæverud himself, including Rondo Amoroso and the mighty Ballad of Revolt, written during the Nazi occupation of Norway. Sæverud's music is presented together with works by Norwegian composers Edvard Grieg, Geirr Tveitt and Alf Hurum, and Finnish Armas Järnefelt and Lithauian Mikalojus Čiurlionis. 

Håvard Gimse often performs at festivals and great concert halls both domestically and abroad, both as a soloist and a chamber musician. Throughout his career, the pianist has received several prestigious awards such as the Steinway Prize, the Grieg Prize and the Sibelius Prize. In 2011, Gimse was award the Critics' Award together with cellist Truls Mørk for their interpretation of Beethoven's cello sonatas at the Bergen International Festival. 

During this year's festival, the pianist will also perform in a concert with violinist, fiddle-player and folk singer Arve Moen Bergset.  

​Photo: Ilja Hendel


By launching performances and artists as they are confirmed, the Festival would like to draw attention to the work our wonderful artists do, while knowing that the final festival programme may look different because of the pandemic.

The festival will follow the health authorities' orders and recommendations. In order to create the least possible inconvenience for our audience, ticket sales will begin closer to the festival dates.



​1 h


​Ticket sales start in the spring 2021. Sign up for our newsletter to stay updated.


    • Håvard Gimse piano

Music by

    • Sæverud
    • Čiurlionis
    • Järnefelt
    • Grieg
    • Hurum
    • Tveitt


    • Harald Sæverud (1897–1992)
      3 Slåtter og stev fra Siljustøl
      Fuchsia, op. 21 no. 1
      Little Bird Waltz, op. 18 no. 2
      Thor The Hammerer, op. 24 no. 5

    • Mikalojus Čiurlionis (1875–1911)
      Prelude in B major, VL 186
      Nocturne in F sharp minor, VL 178
      Angelus Domini, prelude in F sharp major, VL 184
      Impromptu in F sharp minor, VL 181

    • Armas Järnefelt (1869–1958)
      Theme and Variations

    • Edvard Grieg (1843–1907)
      Lullaby, op. 41 no. 1
      A Mother’s Grief, op. 52 no. 1
      The Poet’s Heart, op. 52 no. 3

    • Alf Hurum (1882–1972)
      Water Colours, op. 5
      1. The Water-Lily
      2. Miniature
      3. Water colour

    • Geirr Tveitt (1908–81)
      Arvesylv (Family silver)
      Wedding bells
      Hardanger ale

    • Harald Sæverud (1897–1992)
      Venevil (Kristin’s Waltz), op. 18 no. 5
      Rondo Amoroso, op. 14 no. 7
      Ballad of Revolt, op. 22 no. 5


Connected to chatbot
Hei! Jeg er Festspillenes chatbot. Hva kan jeg hjelpe deg med?