It might seem that you have turned off javascripts. We have tried to ensure functionality without, but some functions might not work as intended

Jump to main content
26 May - 09 June 2021

Ingrid Andsnes

World premiere
Next event:

​Step, Sway and Spin.

​In Grieg's own living room Ingrid Andsnes, pianist and consumate communicator, will perform a programme she has divided into three parts: Step, Sway and Spin. 

The programme is inspired by movement and rhythmics, and includes a commissioned work by the Norwegian composer Erlend Skomsvoll entitled Step Sway Spin

The concert also contains works by Grieg, Stravinsky, Bach and Ligeti, plus A Map of Laughter by Missy Mazzoli, who is the 2021 Festival composer and Artist in Residence.


​​Events planned for the 2021 Bergen International Festival will be launched throughout the autumn and winter.

It is likely that plans for the 2021 Bergen International Festival will be affected by the pandemic. By launching performances and artists as they are confirmed, the Festival would like to draw attention to the work our wonderful artists do, while knowing that the final festival programme may look different. 

The festival will follow the health authorities' orders and recommendations, and wants to create safe conditions and the least possible inconvenience to our audience. Therefore, ticket sales will not start until the spring.

Photo: Thomas Moss



​1 h


​Ticket sales start in the spring 2021. Sign up for our newsletter to stay updated. 


    • Ingrid Andsnes piano​

Music by

    • Stravinskij
    • Bach
    • Ravel
    • Grieg
    • Chopin
    • Debussy
    • Villa-Lobos
    • Ligeti
    • Skomsvoll


    • Step
    • Igor Stravinskij (1882–1971)

    • Edvard Grieg (1843–1907)
      Gangar from Myllarguten op 72:6

    • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750)
      Fugue in E major BWV 878 (Das wohltemperierte Klavier 2:9)

    • Erlend Skomsvoll (1969–)

    • Maurice Ravel (1875–1937)
      Pavane pour une infante défunte

    • Edvard Grieg  (1843–1907)
      The goblin’s bridal procession at Vossevangen op 72:14

    • Sway
    • Frédéric Chopin (1810–1849)
      Waltz no 5 in A flat major op 42

    • Erlend Skomsvoll ( 1969 – )

    • Edvard Grieg  (1843–1907)
      Waltz op. 38:7 from Lyric pieces 2

    • Pauline Hall (1890–1969)
      Waltz op 1:3

    • Heitor Villa-Lobos (1887–1959)
      A Lenda do Caboclo W166

    • György Ligeti (1923–2006)
      Rubato. Lamentoso – Musica ricercata:5

    • Claude Debussy (1862–1918)
      Étude nr 11 – Pour les arpèges composés

    • Spin
    • John Adams (1947–)
      China Gates

    • Missy Mazzoli (1980–)
      A map of laughter

    • György Ligeti (1923–2006)
      Cantabile, molto legato Musica ricercata:7

    • Claude Debussy (1862–1918)
      Mouvement – Images bok 1:3

    • Erlend Skomsvoll (1969–)


Connected to chatbot
Hei! Jeg er Festspillenes chatbot. Hva kan jeg hjelpe deg med?