It might seem that you have turned off javascripts. We have tried to ensure functionality without, but some functions might not work as intended

Jump to main content
22 May - 5 June 2024

JACK Quartet & Yarn/Wire

Next event:

​Two quartets from New York with new music by the Festival composer. 

JACK Quartet and Yarn/Wire present an evening of groundbreaking music, including the world premiere of music by Festival composer Øyvind Torvund.

JACK Quartet is an internationally acclaimed string quartet dedicated to creating thought-provoking listening experiences with contemporary music from the 20th and 21st centuries. The quartet has been Grammy-nominated three times, and The New York Times called them 'our leading new-music foursome.'

The percussion and piano quartet Yarn/Wire is committed to promoting creative, experimental music with curiosity and fearlessness, and has collaborated closely with Øyvind Torvund for nearly a decade.

'Romantic, sentimental music in combination with noisy, perfectly bold percussion as represented by these two quartets suits me perfectly,' says the composer.

The programme includes In the Clouds from 2023 and the world premiere of Torvund's String Quartets No. 1 and 2, both works composed for and performed by these two quartets.

JACK Quartet also performs works by two American 20th century icons, the avant-garde Morton Feldman and the pioneer Ruth Crawford Seeger, who is particularly known for her modernist string quartet. Yarn/Wire open the concert with Le monde des ronds et des carrés, written for them by Japanese composer Misato Mochizuki in 2015.


​Read more about the Festival composer Øyvind Torvund.

See also Yarn/Wire in the family concert The sound of the forest on Saturday 1 June.

Yarn/Wire, photo Pascal Perich. Above: JACK Quartet, photo Shervin Lainez.
  • Music



​50 min


​Standard: 480/530
Under 30 years/student: 200
Senior: 432/477
FiB Fordel: 336/371
BT Fordel: 360/397

Purchase ticket


    • JACK Quartet
    • Christopher Otto violin
    • Austin Wulliman violin
    • John Richards viola
    • Jay Campbell cello

    • Yarn/Wire
    • Laura Barger piano
    • Julia Den Boer piano
    • Russell Greenberg percussion
    • Sae Hashimoto percussion

Music by

    • Mochizuki
    • Feldman
    • Seeger
    • Torvund 

    • Misato Mochizuki (1969–)
      Le Monde des ronds et des carrés (The World of Circles and Squares)
    • Morton Feldman (1926–1987)
    • Ruth Crawford Seeger (1901–1953)
      String Quartet
    • Øyvind Torvund (1976–)
      String Quartet no. 1 & 2
      World premiere

      In the Clouds

Supported by

The Savings Bank Foundation DNB – Dextra Musica and Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation


Connected to chatbot
Hei! Jeg er Festspillenes chatbot. Hva kan jeg hjelpe deg med?