It might seem that you have turned off javascripts. We have tried to ensure functionality without, but some functions might not work as intended

Jump to main content
26 May - 09 June 2021

Johan Dalene

Winner of the Norwegian Soloist Prize 2019

Music Digital
Past events:
  • Event finished
​Superb playing and charisma.

Swedish-Norwegian Johan Dalene was awarded the Norwegian Soloist Prize in 2019. The international jury praised the then 19-year-old violinist's suberb playing and charisma, and a recital at the Bergen Internation Festival is part of the prize.

'A fantastic feeling, and a great honour to win,' responded Johan Dalene when he was awarded the prize at a concert with the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra.

Despite his youth Johan Dalene is well on his way to a major international career, with recent or imminent debuts at Wigmore Hall in London and Carnegie Hall in New York. He is in the BBCs New Generation Artists programme and the Norwegian mentoring programme Crescendo, and will be making his third appearance in the Bergen International Festival. A new record with the acclaimed Norwegian pianist Christian Ihle Hadland is around the corner, and at this concert, they will be performing works by Sinding, Auerbach, Ravel, Roumain and Saint-Saëns.


The event is filmed. Cameras can be an inconvenience to the audience at the venue. No admittance after the doors close, 5 mins before the event begins. Any distribution, copying and downloading of video content is strictly forbidden.

The Bergen International Festival is carried out in accordance with the government's and local authorities' current requirements and guidelines for COVID-19. Read more here.

Digital pass or ticket holder? Watch the event here.

Christian Ihle Hadland, photo: Nikolaj Lund. Johan Dalene, top photo: Nikolaj Lund.



​1 h


At the venue
Standard: 470 
Senior: 423 
Under 30/student: 190 
BT Fordel: 352

Digital event
Standard: 250
Under 30/student: 150
BT Fordel: 180
Household: 400

Digital pass or ticket holder? Watch the event here.


    • Johan Dalene violin
    • Christian Ihle Hadland piano

Music by

    • Sinding
    • Auerbach
    • Ravel
    • Roumain
    • Saint-Saëns


    • Christian Sinding (1856–1941)
      Suite Im Alten Stil, op. 10
      1. Presto
      2. Adagio
      3. Tempo giusto

    • Lera Auerbach (1973–)
      Selections from 24 Preludes for Violin and Piano, op. 46
      Prelude No. 3 in G Major
      Prelude No. 4 in E Minor
      Prelude No. 8 in F-sharp Minor

    • Maurice Ravel (1875–1937)
      Violin Sonata in G Major, M. 77
      1. Allegretto
      2. Blues. Moderato
      3. Perpetuum mobile

    • Daniel Bernard Roumain (1971–)

    • Camille Saint-Saëns (1835–1921)
      Introduction & Rondo capriccioso, op. 28

Supported by



Connected to chatbot
Hei! Jeg er Festspillenes chatbot. Hva kan jeg hjelpe deg med?