It might seem that you have turned off javascripts. We have tried to ensure functionality without, but some functions might not work as intended

Jump to main content
24 May - 7 June 2023


Next event:

​Perennially modern music.

The string quartet Opus13, founded at the Barratt Due Music Institute in 2014, is made up of Sonoko Miriam Welde and Edvard Erdal, violin, Michael Andreas Grolid, viola and Daniel Thorell, cello.

In this concert they perform Caroline Shaw's work for string quartet from 2015, Plan & Elevation, and Ludwig van Beethoven's String Quartet from 1826.

'In Plan & Elevation we hear meditative sounds, minimalistic elements and references to great works from the past, which Caroline Shaw brings into the present in her own beautiful way,' says Welde, who is looking forward to presenting Shaw alongside Beethoven's opus 130: 

'His string quartet with the Grand Fugue is one of the most monumental works ever written for quartet. It includes the incredibly beautiful sensitive Cavatina movement. The Grand Fugue must be one of the best instances of old music that will never cease to be modern. It was Beethoven's original finale movement for the quartet, but his publishers considered it too demanding for audiences, and asked Beethoven to compose a new finale. More intense and epic music is difficult to find,' Welde continues.

In January 2023 Opus13 received Equinor's Classical Music Award – the first String Quartet to do so – after gaining second place in the Banff International String Quartet Competition in Alberta, Canada in September. 

Photo: Bjørn Wad

  • Musikk



​1 h


Standard: 390
Under 30/student: 200 
Senior: 351
FiB Fordel: 273
BT Fordel: 292

Purchase ticket


Free transport to Troldsalen
Return transport is included in the ticket for concerts in Troldsalen.
Please note that the bus ticket must be booked when you buy your concert ticket.
The bus journey is approx. 30 min.
Departure from Bergen Tourist Information at 18:30. Return from Troldhaugen at 21:00.


    • Opus13
    • Sonoko Miriam Welde violin
    • Edvard Erdal violin
    • Michael Andreas Grolid viola
    • Daniel Thorell cello

Music by

    • Beethoven
    • Shaw
    • Caroline Shaw (1982–)
      Plan & Elevation
      1. The Ellipse
      2. The Cutting Garden
      3. The Herbaceous Border
      4. The Orangery
      5. The Beech Tree

    • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
      String Quartet no. 13 in B flat major, op. 130 with «Grosse Fuge» in B flat major, op. 133
      1. Adagio ma non troppo – Allegro
      2. Presto
      3. Andante con moto ma non troppo
      4. Alla danza tedesca. Allegro assai
      5. Cavatina. Adagio molto espressivo
      6. Finale. Allegro

Supported by

The Savings Bank Foundation DNB


Connected to chatbot
Hei! Jeg er Festspillenes chatbot. Hva kan jeg hjelpe deg med?