It might seem that you have turned off javascripts. We have tried to ensure functionality without, but some functions might not work as intended

The sound of Dextra Musica

Past events:

​String players seeking the essence of music.

Since its inception 15 years ago the Dextra Musica Foundation has built up a collection of over 120 string instruments – both historical and modern – which are lent out to musicians.

Historical instruments are known for their unique, personal tone. At this concert you can experience several Dextra instruments in ensemble, played by some of Norway's top musicians.

Double bass player Cécile-Laure Kouassi hosts this festival concert, in which classical music jewels are juxtaposed with music of the present day. The programme includes music by the American artist and Pulitzer Prize winner Caroline Shaw and the Norwegian composer Anna Berg, alongside the peaceful Sicilienne of François Couperin and Last Round, Golijov's moving, passionate tribute to Astor Piazzolla.

The programme is focused on a quest for the universal essence of music through time and space. What are the shared features of Parisian baroque music and Maurice Ravel's free impressionism? And what does Richard Strauss's iconic romantic work Metamorphosen (1945) have in common with György Ligeti's avant-garde quartet Métamorphoses nocturnes (1953)? 

Image: Cécile-Laure Kouassi (photo: Anna-Julia Granberg)


Performance programme (pdf)



2 h, incl. interval


Standard: 440/490
Senior: 396/441
Under 30/student: 190 
FiB Fordel until 13 April: 308/343
FiB Fordel from 14 April: 352/392
BT Fordel: 330/367


    • Cécile-Laure Kouassi double bass, host
    • Øyvor Volle violin
    • Brage Sæbø violin
    • Johanne Haugland violin
    • Johannes Sciacco Schantz violin
    • Henninge Landaas viola
    • Eivind Ringstad viola
    • Jan Clemens Carlsen cello
    • Theresa Schneider cello
    • Caroline Shaw vocals 

Music by

    • Ravel
    • Shaw
    • Ligeti
    • Strauss
    • Berg
    • Glière
    • Couperin
    • Golijov


    • Maurice Ravel (1875–1937)
      Le Tombeau de Couperin
      1. Prélude. Vif

    • Caroline Shaw (1982–)
      Is a Rose
      2. And so
      Text: Robert Burns

    • György Ligeti (1923–2006)
      String Quartet no. 1, Métamorphoses nocturnes, selected movements

    • Richard Strauss (1864–1949)
      Metamorphosen, TrV 290 (septet version)

    • Interval

    • Anna Berg (1992–) 
      Remnants of Confetti Unexploded

    • Reinhold Glière (1875–1956)
      8 Duets for Violin and Cello, op. 39
      3. Berceuse
      Arr.: Frank Proto 

    • François Couperin (1668–1733)
      Pièces en concert

    • Osvaldo Golijov (1960–)
      Last Round (Tango) 
      • Movido, urgente
      • Muertes del Angel (Death of the angel)

Supported by

The Savings Bank Foundation DNB – Dextra Musica


Connected to chatbot
Hei! Jeg er Festspillenes chatbot. Hva kan jeg hjelpe deg med?